Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some argue that changing cultural traditions to attract tourists will destroy their original value, while others believe this tendency is vital to save those traditions from extinction. I will discuss both notions and explain why I agree with the latter. On the one hand, it is understandable why many are against the adjustment of cultural traditions. It is because those traditions can be modified and modernised to be more approachable and entertaining to tourists. For example, people may still play traditional musical instruments in regional areas, but the songs are performed in a more modernised and energetic way to attract the young generation. Therefore, local individuals can gain profit to overcome the lack of funding from the authorities to cover their living fees. In addition, traditional clothes and accessories may assimilate into modern ones to be more fashionable and trendy, eventually leading to the loss of uniqueness. However, I deem that this trend is essential to save cultural traditions in many places. Some of those traditions belong to the minority group, and as these group populations get smaller as time passes by, it could lead to the loss of the whole cultural heritage for instance. To save those traditions, governments should enforce policies so individuals from different backgrounds can learn and use them as a tool for tourist attractions. Their main purpose can be for personal gain, but at the same time, they preserve these cultural values in society. If no actions are taken, and the next young generation does not inherit these traditions, fewer people will know and appreciate them, and those unique cultural traditions will vanish. In conclusion, with the aforementioned, I believe that adjusting cultural traditions for tourist attractions is crucial to protect the endangered ones from extinction. Hence, this tendency should be continually encouraged worldwide.