Discuss the arguments for and against raising pets.

Keeping and nurturing domesticated animals has always drawn public attention and sparked controversies. Although its benefits are proven, the negative effects on pets themselves are undeniable. On the one hand, pets are well-known for their playfulness and are assumed to have positive effects on their owners ’ health. Nowadays, people tend to live apart from families in order to work or study. Therefore, adopting a pet as a friend provides multiple benefits. For example, it enhances the quality of the owners ’ life, alleviates stress, and blood pressure as well as becomes a solution to isolation and solitude. In other words, raising pets have been considered to be a mental therapy. In addition, pets themselves receive attention, care and love in return. Hence, the beneficial impacts are equal for both owners and animals. On the other hand, it is necessary to recognise the fact that there is no guarantee that all domesticated animals live happily with their owners. For example, ignorance of needs such as space, exercise or contact with members of the same species has become a pervasive problem with keeping pets. Moreover, it should be acknowledged that pets are being kept for inappropriate reasons, one of which is as a manifestation of affluence and status of the owners. Therefore, pets may not be cherished and are likely to be abandoned or killed when the owners lose interest in them. In conclusion, raising animals as pets is beneficial for humans as well as pets themselves. Despite this, it is crucial for its negative sides to be taken into consideration in order to protect and assure animals ’ rights and benefits.