The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that the best strategy to cultivate the cooperative skills among children is to include them in team sports. Although participation in team sports can improve cooperation, I disagree that it is the best way to teach children to cooperate. To begin with, fierce competition is also prevalent in school team sports, thus making children less likely a good team player. Students might not cooperate well with their teammates, as they aim to become the best player in the field. Only those with outstanding performance in the match will be admitted to a renowned university. Consequently, team sports might not be the best option to improve cooperation among youngsters. On the other hand, class team assignments can teach children to be cooperative members. For example, group presentations are a popular form of team assignments. Students are required to find a research question, conduct a survey, analyze the data and report the findings to the instructor and the class. Each student in the group should be involved in the whole process and complete individual mission. Only when group members cooperate properly with others can this team get an excellent score. Moreover, volunteer work can also boost the children ’s ability to cooperate. For instance, students are assigned different roles when they serve in the community. They will learn to cooperate with each other to help the needy and the elderly. In conclusion, although cooperation is required in team sports, there are better options like team assignments and volunteer work which can better equip the students with cooperative skills.