Compared to the past, people can now work in places that are far from their homes because of modern means of transportation. How has this affected the lives of workers? Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of having modern transportation. Support your answer with specific reasons and example.

Recent years have witnessed that the infrastructure has been continuously developed in the city. Despite fewer hours being required to arrive at one's destination, whether it completely improves the quality of life of workers has been a widely debated topic. Therefore, the following essay will contain my perspectives on the benefits and drawbacks of this issue. To begin with, in terms of time-saving and convenience, there is no denying that businessmen can travel further in a shorter amount of time. Since the development of highways and trains, people are not tended to use the traditional travelling methods nowadays. For instance, in the past, the citizens are required to use bikes or ferries to arrive at their destinations. It is ascertained that an early awakening time should be set in order to be punctual for their work. Consequently, shorter transportation timings can be gained through advanced technology, hence, the citizens allow to increase their sleeping hours and quality before starting their busy daily schedules. On the other hand, some may argue a dramatic change in their daily routine will definitely drain an array of financial resources, albeit the government has been giving different financial support to the community. Some of the options given nowadays cannot be afforded by those with low or medium-income families. For example, in Hong Kong, the cost of using the train to travel from Causeway Bay to the Airport is well over $100, in contrast, the traditional airport bus which was seldom used these days only costs $40. As a result, compared to the new travelling methods, there is no doubt that this may not be a suitable option for the poor. To conclude, I firmly believe that the abundant choices of modern infrastructure have provided people with convenience, however, it is certain that not all people can afford that much amount of fees, due to their limited salaries. Consequently, the government should provide even more financial support and discounts to the citizens, since it is a privilege for everyone to enjoy public transport.