Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, some people believe that teenagers should perform unpaid jobs in their spare time for the benefit of society. I strongly agree with the notion that it is necessary to engage them in voluntary efforts as this will both benefit the neighbourhood and the children on a personal and social level. To begin with, adolescents who take part in unpaid work will gain a sense of responsibility towards other people. In addition, when they are involved with the public and community, they develop a sense of responsibility and pride. Furthermore, doing good deeds and performing selfless acts will teach them an awareness of other people’s circumstances as well as gratitude for what they have versus what other people might have or experience. In New York, the Centre for Troubled Youth uses community service to rehabilitate children and achieve great success in doing so. These youngsters are then reintroduced to society and go on to become model citizens because they developed an appreciation for their milieu. Furthermore, unpaid endeavours can help children expand their social cycle and soft skills. While they participate in a non-rewarded job, they will learn other myriad skills such as leadership, teamwork, communication skills and how to handle difficult situations. For instance, recent research conducted in Russia has revealed that juveniles who had taken part in voluntary work are more sociable, energetic, and respectful to others. Compared to teenagers that do not participate, who were more introverted, idle, listless and were often in trouble socially, with their parents and even with the law. In conclusion, youngsters should do unpaid community work to aid in their development and learning. This way they will become better members of society once they grow older and will have a bigger appreciation for their circumstances and environment. It could only benefit them in the long run.