Young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults by the authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays there is a debate regarding suitable punishments for criminals belonging to the young age group. Some believe that the same type of punishment must be awarded to a person no matter whether he belongs to an old or teenage group. In my opinion, I believe that adolescent criminals ought to be dealt more care and politeness. On the one hand, it is argued that adolescents should be treated in a lenient way because, usually they are not mature enough to understand the nature of crimes and punishments. Sometimes they show violence without a reason and perform wrong activities only under the influence of media content. In addition, expectedly they would live a longer life so they must not spend precious years of life in prison. It is, therefore, better for society to implement soft laws for young lawbreakers. On the other hand, some opine that harsh sanctions must be given to every offender to spread fear in the community. It is the best way to maintain law and order in society. For instance, long custodial sentences, death penalties or life-long imprisonment. However, I am convinced that alternative ways of punishing might produce better results. These trials include volunteer work in community centres and rehabilitation programs. As a result, those young people may become better society members. In conclusion, although some hold the view that the same methods of giving sentences to every person without considering age should be used to stop violence in a region, I am of the opinion that polite punishments to make young adults understand what they have done wrong is the best way to tackle this issue.