Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is a prediction that people across the world will soon be communicating in the same language. This notion can be seen as a big plus because it will make understanding each other much easier, however there are some downsides to this too as it will take away culture that is associated with jargon. On the one side, having the same voice, that is understood by everyone around the globe, will be very beneficial for trade and business. Everyone will understand what is said, which in turn will eliminate any confusion that might arise. Currently, various business deals and trades are done internationally and having no other language could definitely make sealing deals faster and easier. For example, if all people spoke English there cannot be any misinterpretation of words or instructions which in turn will ensure that all operations will run smoothly for all companies. On the other hand, the civilization and uniqueness of a country will definitely be affected. A great part of any country is its culture which is directly linked to its expression and dialect. In addition. certain customs will be lost in translation and will die out entirely if only a mother tongue exists. A great example of this could be nursery rhymes that have been taught over generations and greatly influence society in a specific region. Although the words can be translated, they will no longer have the same meaning or impact. In conclusion, there are many benefits of having one global language and it certainly makes good business sense however, the fact that it will impact a country's culture and customs makes it less favourable and desired.