In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The world has become a global village.Previously, the students were confined to their native land for education,but now, they can travel to the farthest regions in a short span of time and can participate in foreign university programs. This changing trend has its own benefits and drawbacks, which I will discuss in this essay. The advantages of studying abroad are many folds. First of all, it gives international exposure to the graduates.The students from all over the globe aspire for studying in world-renowned institutes, where, there is a mix of people from different continents. For example, the Queen's hospital in Birmingham, UK takes fellows from a dozen of countries in Asia, Europe and the Middle East.They all are trained in a similar environment, where they can also learn about the culture and values of other nations. Secondly, many under-developed countries desire to groom their graduates from modern international universities so that they can know the latest trends in scientific research.Take an example of Harvard and John Hopkin's universities which are the world's leading organizations for producing the highest number of research papers and conducting leg-breaking trials.By joining these alma maters, one can have a first -hand experience of original scientific publications and also have an opportunity to participate in new trials. Thirdly, being a graduate of a prestigious college increases the job prospects in the native community. For instance, in Pakistan, top hospitals like Agha Khan and Shoukat Khanum, prefer hiring doctors having an MD degree from the USA. Finally, qualification from a well-reputed college helps in getting a better salary.To illustrate, I had a friend of mine who went for a job interview at a hospital in Saudi Arabia.After looking at his local FCPS certificate, he was offered 25000 riyals, but when he told the employer about his MRCS degree from the UK, his pay package was increased to 35000 riyals. Nonetheless, there are a few disadvantages of foreign graduation. First, the candidates after completing studies abroad tend to continue practising over there which deprives the native country of intellectuals as they are no longer available to serve their nation. In addition, there are language barriers while studying in other states and many governments require a language course or test before allowing participation in their educational program. For instance, IELTS is mandatory for studies in the UK. Last but not the least, there are issues of racism in some societies. For example, I had heard in news about the ill-treatment of blacks in some states of the USA. In a nutshell, studying abroad has both risks and benefits.In my opinion, the pros of foreign graduation outweigh the cons. Hence, students should be encouraged to proceed to better-structured organizations for the betterment of society.