With a fast pace of modern life more and more people are turning towards fast food for their main meals. Do you think the advantages outweighs the disadvantages?

Lately, people have been replacing their hearty home-cooked meals with fast food because of their busy lifestyles. Thus, it is certain that this quick fix offers a practical solution to modern life problems, however, the negative effects of excessive fast food consumption can be dangerous in the long run. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why I believe the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. On the one hand, takeaways are a great solution for anyone who is too busy to cook after a long day in the office. It is readily available and does not only save time but also money. Especially now that women can also be part of the workforce, there is not always time to balance work and family life, let alone cooking in the evening too. In addition, you do not need to go shopping to stock your cupboards and you do not spend money on unnecessary items. For these reasons, these meals have become increasingly popular and an easy solution. On the other hand, these nourishments are not always as healthy as portrayed by the media. Instead, these meals often contain high volumes of artificial preservatives and chemicals which can have detrimental effects on one’s health in the long run. For instance, the oil used is heated over and over during the day making it harmful for human consumption. Furthermore, combining unhealthy grub with the lack of exercise due to a fast-paced lifestyle, puts people at risk of developing health problems and gaining weight. For example, in the USA a study showed that 80% of people with daily poor eating habits have developed hypertension and heart-related diseases. In conclusion, though fast food provides a convenient alternative to regular cuisine in today’s world, long-term consumption of this can lead to various health problems. For these reasons, I concur with the opinion that the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages to a great extent.