People in the limelight have a responsibility to set an example for others by their good behaviour. Do you agree?

Many argue that popular figures in society should maintain a certain level of decency because they are very influential. I partially agree with this statement as the common folk follow their idols and imitate their actions, style and behaviours. However, the general public also has a responsibility to choose how they want to be influenced. People are easily influenced by their favourite TV stars or sports idols. They aspire to be like them and follow their trends. In other words, well-known figures have the ability to influence their fans. Therefore, it is imperative that these civilians behave in an appropriate manner that upholds the morals and values of society. For example, many young boys idolize Eben Etsebeth, a Springbok rugby player, even though he was recently in the news for brawling at a local pub. This is not the kind of behaviour that young boys should be exposed to. On the other hand, famous people also have a right to express themselves and to be a person in their own right. It is therefore the obligation of each individual to decide which qualities and values of their idols they would like to mimic. In addition, they should choose which attributes to love and which negative behaviours they will ignore. For example, Will Smith, a famous actor and one of the only black males to ever get an Oscar. He is loved by many for his looks, charm, and brilliant acting. However, at the recent Oscar awards, he decided to hit one of his fellow actors after losing his temper. This is not the kind of behaviour one should idolize. In conclusion, while it is the duty of famous people to act appropriately in public and live up to good standards, each person has the responsibility to decide which famous person(s) they want to copy and which character traits they want to imitate.