In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

HEALTH PROBLEMS CAUSED BY THE CONSUMPTION OF UNHEALTHY FOODS ARE RISING IN SOME COUNTRIES. ONE WIDELY HELD OPINION IS THAT GOVERNMENTS OUGHT TO APPLY HIGHER TAXES ON UNHEALTHY FOODS TO TACKLE THIS ISSUE. THIS ESSAY AGREES WITH THIS NOTION AND WILL FURTHER ELABORATE ON MY VIEW FOR FAVORING THE POSITIVE IMPACT OF HIGHER EXCISE ON FAST FOOD PRODUCTS. FIRSTLY, THIS REVENUE FROM TAXES WOULD BE USED TO TREAT DISEASES ASSOCIATED WITH THESE PRODUCTS AND WOULD BE USEFUL IN ADVERTISING CAMPAIGNS WARNING PEOPLE ABOUT THE DANGERS OF JUNK FOOD CONSUMPTION. FOR INSTANCE, HIGHER EXCISE ON ALCOHOL AND CIGARETTES HAS PROVEN TO BE SUCCESSFUL AT CURBING THE HARM CAUSED BY THESE SUBSTANCES IN THE UNITED KINGDOM, WHERE MONEY FROM SMOKERS IS USED TO TREAT LUNG CANCER AND HEART DISEASE, WHILE AT THE SAME TIME, PUMPED INTO HEALTH CAMPAIGNS IN SCHOOLS TO WARN CHILDREN ABOUT THE DANGERS OF SMOKING. SECONDLY, INCREASING TAXES WOULD RAISE PRICES AND LOWER CONSUMPTION. TO AN EXTENT, FAST FOOD COMPANIES WOULD PASS ON THESE TAXES TO CONSUMERS IN THE FORM OF HIGHER PRICES AND THIS WOULD LEAD TO PEOPLE NOT BEING ABLE TO AFFORD FAST FOOD BECAUSE IT IS TOO EXPENSIVE. JUNK FOOD WOULD SOON BECOME A LUXURY ITEM AND IT WOULD ONLY BE CONSUMED OCCASIONALLY, WHICH WOULD BE LESS HARMFUL TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC’S HEALTH. FOR EXAMPLE, THE COST OF ORGANIC FOOD HAS PROVEN PROHIBITIVELY EXPENSIVE FOR MOST PEOPLE AND THAT IS WHY ONLY A SMALL PERCENTAGE OF THE POPULATION BUY IT REGULARLY. IN CONCLUSION, FAST FOOD SHOULD BE TAXED AT A HIGHER RATE, IN THIS WAY IT WOULD BE LESS REACHABLE FOR PEOPLE AND THE MONEY COMING FROM TAXES COULD BE INVESTED IN AWARENESS CAMPAIGNS OR TREATMENTS.