In many countries today, people in cities either live alone or in small family units, rather than in large, extended family groups. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays,there can be seen a rise in the family size shrinking throughout the world,as city dwellers tend to live more independently than the people in the past.It is a negative trend as it can lead to deterioration of mental wellbeing and have a detrimental effects on the upbringing of children while it may be economically positive to the families. First of all,most people who live in nuclear families are prone to suffer from mental illnesses such as depression.Humans are social creatures and not getting enough social interaction can have a serious impact mentally.Individuals who live on their own forget the constant stimulation and hustle and bustle of a large family, thus their leisure time activities are replaced by watching television,playing videogames and internet surfing. For example,if urban residents live on their own, they will have nobody to care for them when they fall ill or have other problems. Therefore, it may weaken their mental health. Furthermore,as family size getting decreases,conventional family bonding is loosening and this can have a negative effect on children as they grow up.Childcare is an expensive and stressful part of a parent's life in a single-parent household.As there is no help from other relatives,busy parents must rely on babysitters and nannies to take care of their children.The absence of adult family members will result in the effect of friends,television and the internet on children’s development. Therefore, a decline in the extended family has been linked to a rise in psychological and behavioural problems amongst youngsters. On the other hand,despite negative effects there may be a positive aspect of having a small family in a city environment.The only advantage is financial affordability.The cost of a nuclear family is less than an extended one. Therefore, a family can spend their salary on other leisure activities and assets too. In conclusion,the shrinking of household size is a negative trend despite it having some positive aspects.