in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. what are advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Hardworking and perseverance are cultural values in some countries. So parents find it precious to teach these values to their children. Some people believe that encouraging kids to work hard has several advantages while others argue that its drawbacks is far more. In this essay, both viewpoints will be discussed. On the one hand, many commentators justifiably maintain that giving the message to children that hardworking is a way of achieving your goals has a lot of benefits. Firstly, children should be learned that obtaining what they want requires some efforts. It means that they have to try to reach their ambitions. It is a useful lesson for them when they want to enter the society as they are more likely to overcome difficulties in real life. Besides, they are less likely to suffer from failing owing to the fact that they believe that failure is the bridge to victory. On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that there are some negative points in setting hardworking as a necessary condition for achieving goals. They assert that this message may lead to misleading children in choosing university major and job. In the other words, they might not find their talents because they learn to hard work even in fields which they have no interest and parents or society dictate them to do them. They also claim that children should enjoy their childhood and forcing them for doing more efforts takes them this opportunity. In South Korea for instance, the rate of suicide among teenagers is high due to the university entrance exam which make them study too hard. In conclusion, values like being diligent have merits and drawbacks simultaneously. It is important for parents to take the full advantages of these values by making a balance in different aspects of their kids’ lives.