In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst the younger generation. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Recently, the use of second -hand clothing is enormous among the youth. While there are multiple motives for this advancement, I believe this is positive development in our times to enhance individual’s total wellbeing. One of the reasons why our youngsters utilise used clothing is environmental education. Unlike the previous years, scientific knowledge these children gain from school concerning the state of our planet and its effects on humanity encourage them to follow this pathway. Second -hand clothing is included in the wastes that endangered our sea creatures and pollute rivers being the main sources of portable water for many nationalities around the globe. These younger generation are aware that wearing apparels already used but in good condition will help save the earth from the above-mentioned problems. A documentary shown on ABC a while a go demonstrate how aquatic animals are dying due to being wrapped by second -hand wears that finished in the sea. Another area is technological advancement. For example, various researches have made recycling possible and used cloths could be turned into other fashionable wears which will attract our young ones to buy. No doubt their popularity has increases nowadays. However, I agued that this is a positive development for our little ones. Economically it saves them a lot of money. Second -hand clothing is cheaper and affordable, some people even give it out free of charge. Times are hard and people want to save money for other essential things like payment of electricity and rent or go on a holyday for relaxation. Natural resources such cotton and wool are also preserved since goods are not processed from the scratch. With reduction in cloth manufacture carbon emittion into the atmosphere from factories will minimised drastically, preventing excessive drought and floods facing mankind. In conclusion, being conscious of the effect of used wears have enlightened our current generation to re-use cloths, and this is a huge progress to protect humanity and aquatic life.