Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the problem related to the amount of packaging material used for products has emerged as a hot topic. Many argue that the product manufacturers and shopkeepers should be responsible to reduce the amount of packaging while some believe it should be done at the end of consumers. In this essay, both the arguments will be examined and it will be provided why it should be the responsibility of both manufacturers and customers. The supermarkets should ban such items and products which contain more paper, plastic and cardboard for packaging, for instance,things like perfumes and cosmetics. In this way, they can contribute to producing less garbage and in the long run, recycling will become easier for the state. For example, in China, the manufacturers stopped adding more amount of packaging to their products in 2008 which helped a lot in producing less rubbish and besides this, recycling waste material also became easier. Therefore, supermarkets and producers can play a crucial role in creating less pollution and garbage. However, the other school of thought think that it is the responsibility of people themselves to buy such items which contain less amount of packaging material. They argue that such things come in luxury and they are not very necessary to buy, so customers should avoid buying them. For instance, in Pakistan, several food, beauty, cosmetics and apparel brands sell their items with a lot of wrappers and bags. Limelite and Beechtree are examples of such brands. Furthermore, the people supporting this idea back their view that it is the duty of customers to let this earth remain a livable place for their future generations which can only happen if they will generate less garbage and pollution. Thus, buyers can save the world and the environment by not purchasing such products. In conclusion, considering all the facts, it can be said that several environmental issues have emerged because of more amount of packaging. Some people believe that it is the responsibility of manufacturers to reduce the amount of packaging, while some say that it should be done by the general masses and buyers. I, myself strongly hold this opinion that it should be done by all of them whether they are manufacturers, supermarket owners or customers.