Some peopl believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matter that affect them. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s societies, children's childrens tend to work on themselves without interfering from others, including the basic things. However, the parents, especially the controversial ones, are more accustomed to doing everything for their children, without letting their kids decide what they want. However, there are some circumstances that the children need to be cultivated to grow up with the habits of making decisions themselves. First of all, children at a young age want to do the things as they wish, but end up mostly in trouble or crying. At that time, the parents cannot let the children do what they want so they always insist on being involved in every matters, not only basic things, but also in some personal choices. According to the researchers and latest research papers, those kinds of children are more likely to depend on others when being grown up as it becomes their habit. Therefore, it is the right practice for parents to allow children to make their own choices on everyday matters unless those choices are not seriously affecting their kids. Although it sounds like the children may become individualists, the schools, education’s practices, which should adapt to the community spirit and enhance group work, and the country’s programs for the children will enhance them to be more socialist. On the other hand, since the parents want their children to decide on their own for only some matters that affect them, it can be said that it is a right practice for the parents to not only let them decide but also take responsibility for that. For example, when I worked as a volunteer in a local community centre, a child went up to quite a high place and requested me to help him down. No sooner was I about to help him, another volunteer told the kid that if he got in trouble, he would also know the way of getting out of trouble. I believe this is also a good practice for the parents that the children must take responsibility for themselves. Henceforth, it is my opinion that the children should be let to decide what they want and take responsibility for the decisions they make.