Every country in the world has its own road rules, but many drivers don’t obey them. What do you think are the reasons for this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Numerous motorists tend to ignore the road rules and choose not to follow them. This has been observed globally as each country has its own laws but most still disregard them. This essay firstly discusses the causes of the problem and then introduces some solutions for the same. The lack of consequences, improper enforcement of rules and the absence of road safety education are some of the major reasons why most motorists don’t oblige to road rules. Casual offenders are not trained in road safety and are unknown of the implications of not following the rules. In the Philippines, it has been observed that the majority of two-wheeler drivers don’t follow the speed limits or traffic signals and constantly change lanes without signalling. Driving in such a manner leads to risky situations for other drivers on the road. Constant vigilance along with heavier fines and punishments such as license suspension are some of the solutions that can be implemented in order to deal with the issue. Regular police patrolling in areas of frequent violations can help with keeping checks on drivers. Moreover, the fear of huge fines and license suspension for serious offences will make following the laws a necessity. For example, constant patrolling in Delhi has led to an overall decrease in speeding-related offences and thanks to the exorbitant fines of up to INR 20,000, motorists now tend to respect the speed limits posted within the city. Overall, every country has to come up with stricter enforcement and severe punishments regarding road rules in order to ensure the overall safety and absolute compliance of laws.