It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s society, the idea of taking big risks for big rewards is being ubiquitously advocated on various social platforms, this mentality has been planted into the mind of many people, especially for youths with a burning desire for prosperity, and social standing. Taking risk has become a norm to differentiate between a courageous and non-motivated person, hence there is a belief that it is crucial for anyone to take risk, or step out of their comfort zone, in both their work, as well as their personal life. I personally believe that taking risks carries more disadvantages than its own merits for the following reasons. Firstly, the charming aspect of taking risks usually lies in the rewards that come as a result. Most people are willing to take big risks for the attractive rewards at the end, but they tend to intentionally ignore the hardship it might take to get to the end of the process. Let’s consider an example when a student wants to quit college to pursue an entrepreneurship path. Entrepreneurship is one of the most commonly romanticized career paths on many social platforms, where they only show readers the wealthy life of a business owner with multiple luxury cars, designer clothing and magnificent mansions. But rarely do they show the brutal 16-hour work day, constant stress, or missing out important occasions behind the prosperous lifestyle of these self-made entrepreneurs, which are the reality of taking risks. Another point to take into consideration, to become successful by taking risks is also heavily dependent on the matter of luck. Though hard work, discipline and intelligence play vital roles in the promising outcome of taking risks, one cannot avoid the uncertainty of life, which can lead the whole process to collapse. An example can be taken from a close relative of mine, whose bakery had been doing well before the Covid-19 incident. This relative of mine has always been known for her resilience in stressful periods, combining with her impeccable sense in business, her dream bakery was at its peak performance in 2019 when an unexpected pandemic swept through. The devastating event caused the business to break down, and this relative of mine has been suffering with mental illness ever since. This example shows the uncertain reality of life can be an obstacle for any risk takers. To sum up, even though success in taking big risks will definitely result in promising rewards, it also comes with many concerns. Risk taking itself is a challenging task, which is often ignored because of the attractive results. Risk taking can also take a toll on the well-being of anyone, and dramatically alter the personal life of a person. Therefore, a person should only step out of their comfort zone if they have a strong resilience to stress, and the capability to cope with any unexpected outcome of the process.