In theie advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In some business advertisements recently, people often address the innovative aspects of their proposed products compared to other alternatives. In a personal point of view, I believe this strategy can be more beneficial than harmful for the following reasons. In the era where consumerism is prevailing, creative products possess competitive advantages over ordinary goods. An abundant amount of consumers’ goods on the market provides end users with various options to choose from. As a result, consumers often lean towards smartly designed products that have more efficient utilities, and could be a good replacement to their regular items. As a practical example, double-sided window cleaning tools that are integrated with automatic water emission systems will definitely outperform regular cleaning tools that are widely distributed on the market. In some particular cases, originality is the most valuable trait of some types of products, hence an innovative feature might take away the authenticity of that item. In the fashion industry, especially in a niche sector such as classic menswear, an item will be valued the most in its purest form. Therefore, in this specific case, a novel design should not be prioritized. Let’s take a pair double monk strap shoe in classic men’s footwear as an example, if a designer decided to use Velcro as an alternative to the straps for ease of use, it would ruin the classic characteristic of that shoe, and consequently lead to the collapse of that product line. In summary, even though innovation can bring about many beneficial developments to businesses, it should be carefully conducted so that a new feature would not violate the desirable authenticity of a certain product.