The length of working week does not reflect mordern lifestyle needs. It should be substantially reduced to give people more leisure time and time with their families. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There has been a phenomenon that our working hours have been reduced substantially. I think its advantages outweigh its disadvantages, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, improving the working efficiency of the employees. As we know, in order to deal with all sorts of work, we need to concentrate on them. However, our energy is limited; therefore, if there is an increase in the workload, our working efficiency is bound to be affected negatively. Besides, it's commonplace that workers don't work all the time; they take breaks every once in a while. At this point, if the working time could be reduced, employees could work more effectively. For instance, should the working time reduces from 8 hours to 6 hours, people don't need breaks anymore, and they can better concentrate on their work on account of a decrease in working hours. It's worth mentioning that when employees have a shortened timetable they don't feel stressed to tackle a heavy workload. Second, saving more natural resources. It's expected that offices consume a large number of recourses annually, including renewable and non-renewable energies. For example, should the heating is turned on during winter in offices, it can consume a large amount of electronic recourse, and even some oil. On the contrary, if working hours could be reduced, these resources could be better preserved because shorter working time also means less energy consumption. On the other hand, a reduced working time can be pricy. So as to guarantee companies can run normally, it requires more resources to cover a loss caused by a shortened working time. As a result, it can cost more money. In conclusion, I believe the merits of a shortened working time outstrip its demerits.