To meet the growing need for food by an increasing population, a country should make use of genetically engineered foods. However, some people believe that such foods are not only unhealthy but affect nature too. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Introducing genetically engineered foods into the food system is one of the initiatives taken by many countries to feed their rising population. A section of society disagrees with this practice and considers this option harmful to the health of the people also, and it is believed that excessive use of this alternative can destroy nature as well. I agree with this notion and the following essay with throw some light on the negative effects of consuming such meals in our daily lives. Firstly, replicating the DNA of a food item to grow an artificial consumable eatable would certainly impact the health of a human by degrading their muscular strength due to less intake of natural nutrition. For an instance, the genetically created sunflower oil contains a high quantity of cholesterol and an intake of which can result in increased cholesterol levels in the body, which is a cause of heart attack. Hence, one should either minimize the use of such products or completely stop utilizing them. Secondly, copying an organically grown substance can largely affect nature by destroying the elements behind a grown product. In the case of organic vegetables, insects and butterflies are considered the key contributors to the growth of a plant and copying of such plants would vanish their population due to decreased consumption of organically-grown veggies. For example, a butterfly helps in cross pollination activities, which helps fruits and vegetables to produce new seeds. Therefore, the phenomenon of growing food naturally should always be considered in the first place to meet hunger. To conclude, though genetically created consumables are helpful to feed the starving countrymen, their excess use has negative repercussions on the health of society as well as on nature.