Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar; which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a large amount of sugar in food and drinks sold in shops, which leads to a range of health problems. As a result, some think that the prices of these products should be lifted up so that people will buy less of these things. And I partly agree with this opinion. To start with, it is necessary to consume less sugar, so some measures should be imposed. For example, eating too much sugar will probably lead to some illnesses such as obesity, diabetes and high blood pressure, and if people do not care about their diets, more problems will happen in their physical health. Hence, making sugary products more expensive seems to be a method to keep people away from these goods because they may reckon that spending more money on buying snacks and drinks is not a great deal. Consequently, this will contributes to the reduction of individuals' sugary consumption. On the other hand, I think there are other effective means for people to consume less sugar but not just raise the cost of purchasing relevant goods. Compared to this method, improving the awareness and habit of healthy eating, for instance, is more useful. This is wrong that individuals should not take in any sugar because it is the main source of energy that people need to maintain their physical functioning, so giving products at higher prices is not wise. What the public should do is consume sugar plausibly to keep a balanced diet, instead of buying it less. In conclusion, I do believe the public should purchase less sugar in order to reduce the risk of getting some physical problems, but making the cost more is not enough. That means that more efforts should be taken to help individuals live a healthy life with sugar, not without it.