Theoretical subjects such as mathematics and philosophy are taught in universities but students prefer more practical subjects such as accounting and computer programming. Some people believe theoretical subjects should be abandoned in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At present, an increasing number of people are concerned about the theoretical courses, say mathematic and philosophy, should not to be educated in universities as numerous students are willing to study practical subjects, like accounting and economics. From my perspective, I think both of them should coexist. On the one hand, theoretical subjects are the essential part for studying and living. Firstly, it contributes to erecting system of knowledge and logical thinking ability, particularly the accounting which requires basic skills of mathematic. If students do not acquire the ability of analyzing and solving complex problems, it would be difficult for them to learn difficult knowledge Secondly, theoretical lessons affect students gain insight into the world and the way of seeing problems that is matter to their lives. For example, the classical questions of philosophy, ”who are you”, ”where are you from”, everyone’s answer is different. But those advantages are uneasy to be embodied in Practical subjects. So theoretical subjects cannot be abandoned. On the other hand, the practical objects are extending of theoretical courses and have a positive effect on graduates’ future. As they have obtained the basic skill that companies need so there are a lot of advantages for them when applying a job. For example, the accounting which requires the strong ability of calculating and handling information while graduates already have, so they are more capable of working out creative solutions whenever they spot matters. Apart from the benefits of job, it also plays a key role in their daily since they have to build own lives in all of aspects, such as saving money or investment for future projects, In this situation, the role of economics cannot be ignored. On the contrast, above of all advantages rarely exist in theoretical subjects. Therefore, the practical lessons also need to be taught. In conclusion, I believe that both of them are significant and the universities have obligations to find some way to keep them balance instead of abolishing.