Some school children have less natural ability to learn other languages. Therefore, it is not right to force these school children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is indeed that every child has a different ability to learn new things,especially a language as some can catch it easily whereas others feel hard to learn. Hence, it is suggested not to force the children to learn any particular language and should allow them to learn what they are liking. I agree with this statement and will highlight my viewpoints in upcoming paragraphs. Children nowadays are under huge pressure from teachers and parents to excel in the new language as parents want to make their children all-rounders due to increased competition in every field. But this approach is not advisable due to various reasons. Firstly, the tender minds of children can be overburdened by the additional pressure of learning a new language as they already have other subjects in their curriculum. Therefore, the time they usually devote to playing and leisure activities will be devoted to additional language and their lifestyle will become sedentary and boring. In this way, they become victims of depression which impacts their physical and mental growth. Secondly, the performance of students in other areas where they are excellent is affected by the burden of additional subjects and their performance in other academics is declined which ultimately affects the morale of school children. Moreover, children feel a lack of independence as decisions are imposed on them by parents as their consent is never asked,which results in differences in the parent-child relationships. So, the parents should not pressurise them to learn something without knowing the choice of their children. In conclusion, learning a foreign language must be a decision of a student and should not be imposed by parents or teachers as it can affect feelings of tender minds and can put a burden on them.