Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others think that people cannot expect to enjoy a job and having a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some employees consider job satisfaction as the crucial thing that should be pursued, while others are more concerned about job security. There are two contrasting views regarding this which we will discuss here. On the one side, the opponents of this view propose that nowadays employees are inclined to look for a flexible job. It is probably true because a freelancer would feel fiercely contending to do their profession and more likely to have a high performance. In addition, a more autonomous job which is not forcing them to have office hours would lead workers to have a work-life balance. Accordingly, it could be said that job satisfaction will also lessen the probability of mental health problems among workers. Those who work flexibly would be less likely to feel pressured. They did not tend to feel exhausted or distressed. Moreover, freelance workers had an opportunity to get a higher salary. Free entrepreneurs, for example, could increase their incomes with no limits, compared to permanent job seekers who only have a chance to have pay based on their workplace. By contrast, others viewed job security as more important because it can provide a regular income. An office worker would not be afraid of having a decreased salary as they tend to have a fixed-income from their office. Ultimately, they are guaranteed by money allowances such as health insurance. Evidence in Indonesia demonstrates that permanent employees will get a money allowance after retirement. It is also widely agreed that a permanent job can give a clearer career path. A hard worker can improve their level, starting from staff to higher level management. To summarise, job security can provide a stable income, long-term money guarantees, and a more obvious career path. However, I believe that job satisfaction would still be more important as it enhanced workers ’ flexibility and well-being and encouraged employees to have higher potential money. It is provided that satisfaction-seekers keep their work harder to ensure they have financial opportunities like permanent workers.