Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults by authorities. To what extent do you agree or disagree? (2015.04.25)

Criminal problems of youngsters are important concerns of society, since the young generations are the future and hope of the nations. Some people think that juvenile delinquents should be treated in the same way as adults by authorities; I disagree with it. Admittedly, government should give punishments to young offenders. One reason is that they cause as much pain and suffering to their victims as adult offenders, therefore, they should be punished for breaking the law and allowing them to reflect from committing a crime in the prison. Also, their illegal activities would pose a threat to society such as theft, robbing and murder. So, sending them to prison can protect the public from them, which would help to ensure social stability and security. Furthermore, reforming young criminals can reduce the re-offending rate since they can develop useful skills during rehabilitation and prepare for employment in the future. For instance, young criminals can find jobs and have stable sources of income after having vocational training courses held by governments. However, it is not appropriate to treat young law-breakers in the same way as adults by governments. Firstly, the youth are not mature to understand the consequences of their actions, which means that the illegal action of them cannot fully constitute the requirements of crime which adapted in adults. Additionally, it is easier for minor criminals to go astray by copying what they see and heard from adult prisoners since they would make friends with them and become more violent and dangerous. This would not only increase their possibility of re-offending but also pose threat to safety of society. Furthermore, it is a more proper way if community services can be added into the punishments for criminals in adolescence since it can help them to develop a sense of responsibility and become law-abiding citizens. In conclusion, although juvenile delinquents should be given punishments since they pose a threat to society and cause much pain and suffering to their victims, I hold that view that they should not treated as adults since they are immature and easily influenced by adult offenders.