Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that investing money in the maintenance of public libraries is not essential considering the fact that development in computer technology could replace the functions of public libraries. This essay totally disagrees with this notion because public libraries help to promote reading habits and avoid health-related issues. Promoting the significance of the books and the importance of reading habits could be achieved through public libraries. People's reading practices are diminishing in recent days due to the development in information technology, and the lack of access to books. Well-maintained public libraries, where we could have all kinds of books and newspapers, give chance to people especially, children to read books and enhance their reading skills. For Example, The Qatar library which is well maintained and developed attracts more and more students to visit the library and make use of them. Moreover, Children end up with health issues as a result of spending more time on computers and smartphones. As people spent a prolonged time on computers reading e- books and e-readers, they tend to have health problems such as impaired vision, obesity and so on. For instance, a recent survey resulted that students who spend more time on computers are likely to have problems with eyesight compared to those who don't. In Conclusion, to promote reading habits and eliminate the health-related issues arising through the prolonged usage of computers for reading, this essay strongly believes that public libraries should be well maintained and government should allocate more funds for their maintenance.