In the future, people may no longer be able to pay for things in shops using cash. All payments may have to be made by card or using mobile phones. Do you think this will happen one day? Why do you think some people might not be happy to give up using cash?

A certain segment of individuals believe in the near future, people might use electronic cash and cards to pay for goods in stores, Though, I believe this could happen, this essay will discuss why individuals are still reluctant to shift from the old fashion of paying for goods. Although still, the majority of folks are not interested in using electronics for their transactions, I firmly believe the world will step away from cash as we still progress with the long COVID. During the pandemic, the public was forced to avoid physical contact as much as possible, as in normal they were asked to avoid using bills as much as possible. So, it is better we progress with what is safer for our health. That said, inhabitants still yet to move away from their traditions. One of the significant reasons for this is the lack of trust in electronic transactions. For example, there were a number of reports in the international media about money scams that happened on the internet platforms. Hence, inhabitants trust to pay with their on-hand currency as much as possible, without revealing their card number and security to unknown people or organisations. In addition, for safety reasons, in some countries,electronic money is not pervasive. For instance, according to the latest survey done by ICTA of Sri Lanka, there is only 30% of retail shops and major government offices have enabled their customers to pay in mobile currency or electronic cards. So as a result of these things happening in the society where you live, the public will not experiment with using electronic transactions to do their day-to-day work. In conclusion, even though the risks and lack of pervasiveness keep people away from electronic money exchanges, I firmly believe there will be a day when we all have to move away from cash and coins as we progress through the new normal with the number of health issues.