Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

Many museums and historical sites have become an attraction to a large number of tourists, however, they fail to increase the number of local visitors. This essay will analyze some main reasons for this as well as measures to encourage more local people to exhibit. The causes for a huge difference in the number of the two mentioned types of visitors are varied. First, people who live in the neighborhood seem to be familiar with their traditional customs and history in the locality. Going to those places might be a waste of time and money to the entrance cost and citizens would not pay an amount of money to see what they have already known. Meanwhile, tourists from other places tend to pay a visit to museums to learn about new cultures when traveling to a new region. Secondly, the design of museums and historical sites almost remain unchanged for decades. With a poor collection of artifacts and relics, some museums are not equipped with state-of-the-art technology due to a meager budget for operation, which can be visually unattractive to local residents, who have been living there for years. Some methods can be applied to stimulate more local inhabitants to visit museums and historical places. For example, the government and museums should organize some activities such as anniversaries, game zones or fundraisers about history that serve both education and entertainment purposes. The creation of these social activities will enhance citizen’s patriotism and also raise funds to renovate the layout of museums and historical sites. With more decorations and ornate design of the interior, not only tourists but also more local visitors will come. Additionally, local media should publish more articles and programs by introducing historical sites and museums with tremendous worth. In conclusion, these are two principal cause for the locals’ disinterest in spending time in nearby historical sites and museums as mentioned, and actions should be taken to encourage people to go to such places