In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era of technology, all pieces of information can be found online which is a way different compared to the past when people could only take help from physical books to acquire knowledge. Having said that, according to my view, the internet has brought more benefits in comparison to its drawbacks. To begin with, nowadays the internet is providing the flexibility of gathering any material regardless of the subject or topic whereas,in the past, a person could not learn anything without buying the relevant source of physical books which was quite a challenge since books price was high then. In recent days, the public only needs to have an internet connection to have access to all kinds of information; thus, everyone is able to learn and become informed. Secondly, those who are mainly students, do not need to commute to libraries anymore since they can find all materials needed from their homes. On the other hand, some people believe that online information can be manipulated. Despite the facility to reach any kind of subject, the internet can also provide misinformation due to the fact that anyone can put articles, works or sources online. To explicate further, Wikipedia, which is one of the most accessed portal on the internet, help learners from all parts of the world, however, most parts of the data displayed there are wrong and lead people to extract wrong information from the articles. This happens due to the fact that anyone can upload and edit the information directly on the website. As a result, people could easily input wrong information in order to harm learners. To conclude, it is evident that online sources have carried some misinformations to some extent but this downside cannot overtake the number of facilities and easy accessibilities it provides to get knowledge these days.