Travellers and business people often come into contact with other cultures briefly. What are the main advantages and disadvantages of doing so?

Tourists and executives often find themselves in the company of people from a variety of cultures during their travels. This essay will argue that despite the benefits it holds for foreigners, there are certain risks that must be considered. Firstly, there are many reasons why people would travel to a different country. Some might travel for leisure and others for employment. It is always beneficial to get in contact with the locals, learn some of the languages and prepare according to their customs. In doing so, holidaymakers will open themselves up to possibilities and broaden their understanding of the world out there. Similarly, those who are there for work might gain insight into business practices. Furthermore, a bigger employment market becomes available to them. For example, the food giant, McDonald’s, has franchises around the globe. Because they understand the local demand and habits, they are able to prepare specific meals that will cater to the culture’s needs. On the contrary, it is risky to travel frequently due to the high volume of scams that are out there as well as the diseases you will be exposed to. Although most tourists are made aware of safety measures, they might end up having a bad experience which in turn will give the host country a poor reputation. Similarly, new, and unwanted diseases are carried by travellers to which people will be exposed. For example, the COVID-19 pandemic that the world is now faced with. In conclusion, travellers will be exposed to local cultures during their stay in a foreign country. Unless they honour and respect the locals, they will find themselves in a less favourable position and will not have the most of their trip, regardless of whether it is for business or pleasure.