People today can shop, work and communicate with others via the Internet instead of face-to-face communications. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to the rapid development of the Internet, people can do plenty of activities online, such as shopping, meeting, as well as having a talk with others. In my opinion, this trend has both benefits and drawbacks, and I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, online activities benefit our lives in many positive ways. Firstly of all, it can save time and money because we do not need to think about the cost of commuting. accordingly, it contributes to reducing the use of cars and the emission of car exhaust to some extent. Furthermore, companies can still continue their business in some extreme cases like the COVID-19 pandemic, employees can do their job via online meetings. Finally, it makes maintaining a long-distance relationship more possible and easier. for example, a boy can have a video call with his girlfriend every day, it seems just like they stay together and have a face-to-face talk. On the other hand, this development also has many negative influences. Firstly, the most obvious drawback is that using too many computers or smartphones leads us living a sedentary lifestyle, which is quite unhealthy, because we are prone to getting health problems, such as obesity, high blood pressure and heart disease. Furthermore, in the circumstances, we tend to live more independently, which means that we have fewer opportunities to stay with families and friends, in this case, it may cause a great gap between people and people. in conclusion, although using the Internet may cause many unexpectable problems, I believe it can positively contribute to our lives far more.