Title: More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks

There has been a phenomenon that more and more students choose to study abroad. I think the advantages of studying in a foreign country outweigh its disadvantages, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. First, learning advanced knowledge and experience. Take China as an example. Although our scientific technology has improved a lot; however, there is still a huge gap between China and the developed countries in terms of technological level. At this point, studying abroad gives students an opportunity to continue their studies and learn new knowledge. As a result, students can use the knowledge that they learned from other countries to improve their own countries. Second, practising students ' independent skills. It's expected that there will be a huge difference between students ' home country and the country where they study. Besides, it's also challenging to be used to the new environment, and make new friends. Hence, it's a great chance to practice your independent abilities. Take me as an example. I'm from China, and I'm studying in the Neverlands now. Everything here is new for me; nevertheless, I still consider studying here alone is a good chance to learn how to be independent. On the other hand, studying abroad has some disadvantages. For instance, it's extremely pricy. According to some statistical figures, the average cost of an international student in the US is around 20,000 dollars, which is even higher than a normal family's annual income. Besides, it's not guaranteed whether students can earn this amount of money back from their future jobs. In conclusion, I believe the merits of studying abroad outstrip its demerits.