Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this ever-changing world, invention is the key to going forward. Some people think that we should focus more on our future than on the past and in order to achieve more,progress we should let go of traditions. This essay will discuss both sides of this argument and the role of traditions in our lives. Firstly, the people in favour of letting go of traditions argue that innovation is the key to survival in this world and the innovators of the past have many times been opposed by the people of an already established belief system. They talk about the hardships that the scientists like Galileo had to go through to go against the church. Many of his contemporaries were either forced to live life in exile or had to face a death sentence. Secondly, not all traditional values may be relevant in the present. Similarly, what we follow today may not be of any value in the future. So, we should not let these values hinder our journey to build a more prosperous world. In contrast, others say that traditions define the identity of a culture and it is very important for people to act within their boundaries. For instance, some cultures often question the unfair treatment of animals by humans for the sake of medical research. In conclusion, I think to build a just and prosperous world, we need to broaden our minds, and to adapt to the needs of this new era, we may let go of a few traditions. Had we not opposed cultural malpractices like Sati, child marriage, racial discrimination, etc. in the past, we would not have been able to establish peace.