In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

As markets become increasingly saturated while competition between participants is more intense than ever, successfully introducing novel features of corporate merchandise to the public is of the essence. To this end, numerous sellers employ advertisements inevitably focusing on people’s awareness of innovations, yet such practices could be either beneficial or counterproductive depending on the underlying product quality. In this essay, I will investigate the reasons behind this common phenomenon and discuss both sides of the possible results. To begin with, the growing emphasis on marketing new traits is mainly attributable to the firm’s motivation to stand out. As competitors can quickly imitate each other regarding technologies and designs, consumers have a plethora of homogenous alternatives available from which to choose. Hence, those advertised as having something new possess a competitive advantage that attracts buyers’ immediate attention and consequently improves their purchase rate. Moreover, curiosity is intrinsic to human nature, thus, targeting the newness at customers essentially triggers their desire to learn more about the products, increasing brand awareness in return. For instance, Samsung’s launching events of next -generation smartphones invariably highlight state-of-the-art or highly improved technologies, captivating innumerable audiences every time. Nevertheless, despite having an array of incentives in pursuit of the above advertising strategy, its implication remains somewhat contentious. Unless proclaimed quality standards are fully honoured, excessive exploitation of such advertising content is equivalent to deliberate public deception that could undermine the well-being of society, causing wastage of resources spent and consumers’ distrust of the industry as a whole. For example, several local governments enforce strict legal penalties precluding organizations from practising deceptive commercials leading shoppers to purchase counterfeit, defective, or even dangerous products. In contrast, genuine advertisements contribute to a better life by informing end users of more advanced and convenient offerings. In conclusion, businesses’ strong inclination toward product differentiation and human inquisitiveness are the primary driving forces for the emphasis on new aspects in advertising. However, whether it is a positive or negative development rest upon the legitimacy of the products delivered.