People today can shop, work and communicate with others via the Internet instead of face-to-face communications. Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that people tend to do more online activities like shopping, working and talking with others than ever before. Although there are some drawbacks of Internet -based communications, I would argue that there are far more benefits. On the one hand, there are several disadvantages of using too much the Internet. to start with, the main drawback of this trend toward communications is that it can lead to isolation. Before the Internet, people would frequently go out to meet friends, for example in cafes, bars or shopping malls, whereas now people prefer to stay at home alone, chatting and shopping online, rather than meet others outdoors. As a result, people are starting to spend the majority of their time alone which causes a gap between them and their families or friends. Furthermore, another issue is that people who rely on online activities are prone to getting physical problems, such as obesity, and backache, because they usually live a sedentary lifestyle. Lastly, making new friends and purchases online are risky. in other words, people can assume fake identities online and hide their true intentions. On the other hand, despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that online activities are a positive development because they can benefit our lives in many irreplaceable ways. First of all, shopping and working online are usually more efficient and cost-effective because we can save our time and money on commuting. Therefore, we have more energy to concentrate on our work and study. Moreover, the Internet can overcome geographic barriers and provide more options for communications. For instance, a Chinese student in China can discuss problems with a British teacher in England via online courses. Lastly, it is possible for some people to continue their business by using the Internet on special occasions like the COVID-19 pandemic. In conclusion, while i recognise that there are possible disadvantages of online communication, I consider it to be a positive development overall.