Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festival; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?.

Nowadays, the origination and the true meaning behind conventional occasions have been forgotten by more and more people. In modern society, most people even want to spend holidays individually. For me, it is not a good idea. The essay is going to discuss my reasons for that. To begin with, the traditional festivals are all meaningful. They include some lessons that our ancient people wanted to teach to us. Therefore, the traditions and the meaning behind them should be conserved and passed on to our offspring. Take the dragon boat festival as an example, it originates from a great Chinese poet. He was sacrificed because refusing to be controlled by the enemy country. This festival reminds us that loyalty and resistance are quite essential. Furthermore, more and more modern people become indifferent and tend to celebrate by themselves on special occasions. However, getting together with family or friends is more beneficial. It can not only reduce the pressure but develop a stronger relationship with them. Being bonded with friends is helpful to keep in a good mood and maintain our mental health. On top of that, spending time celebrating traditional festivals with others can make us remember the lessons behind them and have opportunities to teach the meaning to children that it can be inherited. In a nutshell, conventional festivals are worthwhile to be protected and remembered because the meaning and lessons behind them are critical. Also, it is helpful for our mental health to celebrate them with people whom we care about.