With a growing population, many people believe that we should focus on producing more genetically modifies food. what are the advantages and disadvantages of doing this?

Recent years have witnessed that a cadre of agriculture is seen around the globe. Some assert that increasing the output of genetically modified food or not has been a widely debated topic. However, some may insist expanding the production of organic food should be the main focus. The benefits and shortcomings of this issue will be discussed in the following essay. To begin with, a wide variety of genetically modified food allows for reducing the hunger population. A recent survey conducted by Hong Kong University confirmed that the whole population of the world has exceeded 20 billion, whereas local and overseas farming cannot withstand the increased consumption rate. In terms of production rate, these food are relatively cheap and can be produced in a deficient amount of time when compared to the traditional growth of farming. For instance, South Africa is well-known for having a high amount of residents while the problem of food shortage remains for at least decades. This not only allows poor countries to consume enough nutrients and prevent further hunger but also prevents health deterioration. Therefore, numerous advantages can be achieved if the community focus on expanding the chemically-changed food production. On the other hand, genetically modified food may produce a fair number of disadvantages. Local organic food agriculture would be the most affected in all of the occupations. Instead of focusing on local farming, the government may reduce the import rate of organic crops, hence, farmers cannot earn any profits from their hard work. As an example, nowadays, imported foods from China and Japan dominated the whole market in Hong Kong as opposed to local farmers accounted for only a mere percentage of the community. Consequently, traditional methods will be continuously disregarded inasmuch as new options are available. To conclude, both advantages and disadvantages are seen in this issue. Despite relieving hunger problems, other categories and services will be affected. Especially for farmers, a deficiency in benefits and income will be gained as the competitiveness is too overpowered, albeit they have the privilege to grow a considerable amount of crops.