Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that adolescents must participate in social services without pay during their spare time because it leads to positive impacts socially and individually. Although there are numerous benefits of teenagers doing community work, I disagree that we should make it compulsory. Teenagers participating in community service is beneficial to themselves and the community. To begin with, the practical experience could help connect the knowledge from school with the real world. For example, caring for the homeless people could help the students to understand the issue of poverty, the wealth gap and the impoverished living conditions of the deprived groups, which widen their horizons and learn about compassion. On the other hand, it would lead to a more harmonic society, by breaking the wall of misunderstanding between the teenagers and the elder generations. For instance, visiting the elderly home provokes opportunities for more communication between different generations. Despite all the positive impacts, there are reasons that I disagree with volunteer work being compulsory for young people. I believe they would only be devoted and engaged when they true-heartedly initiate or participate in the activities. In my personal experience, my high school forced us to complete certain hours of community service in every school term. As a result, a lot of peers did not enjoy it at all but felt stressed and overwhelmed to squeeze time just to satisfy the requirement. Moreover, the tight schedule of most students nowadays is also another reason supporting mandatory non-profit social work is not realistic. It is common that students' after-school life is packed with tutorial classes, music lessons and sports training, and they really could not afford to spend extra time involved in something more. In conclusion, we should encourage and motivate the younger generation to be involved in social service. However, making it compulsory is not practical and could ruin the pure intention of servicing.