In some countries,owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

Owning a home rather than renting one has been a vogue nowadays in some countries. This essay will discuss possible reasons and make comments on their positive and negative effects. In my opinion, this phenomenon should be mainly attributed to the desire for private assets among people. Generally, as in a free market economy, people are willing to make and preserve more money than before, hence, it is an optimal idea to use the money for investments. For ordinary people, there are few effective ways for investments except for stock markets, bonds and real estate. Under these circumstances, people can spend money to buy real estate which can generate two or three times of income within a few decades. Compared with owning a home, renting a house only could probably cost less money. However, after decades, the individual who only rents will have no assets but just use the money for expenses or rent. It may be true that having a house is a better choice, because an owned home can bring a lot of financial and social benefits. However, there are also some demerits which should be focused on. One such negative situation is that people will have more pressure if they buy a house. To begin with, a majority of people will choose debts to help them purchase a house. What they will face is a large number of long-term debts that last for decades. In this situation, people should feel more depressed because they have to work more carefully, and once they lose their jobs, they will have no ability to pay back the debts which will go bankrupt. Overall, it is the financial function of assets that makes people want to have a home. Although it can make people get wealthy, there are also pressures that can not be avoidable for owning a home.