It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Over the last few decades it has become extremely popular to get some time right after high school and spend it on different activities not related to education. Actually, there are some benefits and downsides to the approach and this essay will analyze them further. First, the advantages will be reviewed. Basically, the gap year is crucial for teenagers to have some proper rest before resuming their education. For example, it may help to increase productivity, improve one's health and cope with some emotional problems. Also, it is a great opportunity to do some soul-searching and make life-altering decisions about your professional plans. As an example, students may have a chance to try to work as interns in different companies and see whether it suits them or not. But on the flip side, there are some disadvantages. Firstly, the most glaring one is that the teens waste their valuable time on doubtful activities. It is recommended to start their career as soon as possible and hone their professional skills. For instance, it may affect their future income and it will take its toll when they retire. Secondly, in some cases, teenagers spend their time on numerous useless things like playing console games, hanging around with their friends and getting the most out of their life. Not all of us have the same level of concentration and feeling of what is really essential. As a result, their life could be destroyed just because they had some free time between school and university. In conclusion, the time off after school can be a plus, since it is a chance to unwind and also to think about the future. But on the other,hand people need to be extremely cautious about not wasting their time on futile things.