Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam’. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage from using their cars?

It is not a secret that purchasing of vehicles has significantly grown over the last three decades. As a result, quite a few cities have become endless traffic congestion. I could not agree more with this in view of this problem getting worse. Additionally, the authorities might try to solve this issue by encouraging drivers to switch from their cars to alternative options. Predictably, statistics demonstrate that traffic congestion has been increasing for the past 30 years. To illustrate, traffic jam in the capital of Russia, Moscow and the nearest cities has gone up to 87% since 1990. Therefore, individuals waste a lot of time getting stuck in traffic jams instead of working or spending time with loved ones. Unfortunately, Moscow is not an exception and we can find a lot of megapolises with similar issues to tackle in the long run. Needless to say, certain steps need to be done by officials to avoid traffic congestion. For example, it might be a good option to provide citizens with an opportunity to use bicycles more like in Denmark, Kopenhagen. To illustrate, there are plenty of special paths and routes across the city for cyclists. Besides, the governments should work on public transport more. By the way, it should not be necessarily cheap but it is important to be comfortable enough. To illustrate, studies have shown that people in Switzerland prefered public transport to their own cars thanks to organised private roads for public vehicles and comfortability inside the buses. To conclude, it is obvious that unlimited traffic jam has been a huge issue for drivers and passengers for a quite long time. That is why the authorities should act to overcome this problem by implementing various means such as a comfortable public transport system and routes for cyclists.