Some people think that it is best to live in a horizontal city while others think of a vertical city. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that urban layout design has an indispensable role to play in many realms of contemporary society. Hence, some people harbour a belief that it is better to live in a horizontal city, whereas others hold the reverse viewpoint. From my perspective, it is hard to choose which one is better. In this essay, I will explain both views in detail in the ensuing paragraphs. Initially, there are some advantages to living in a horizontal city. The front and centre in its favour are that the view is more scenic. In addition, because of fewer tall buildings, there is less crowded, plus there is a good sense of community. For example, the citizens who live in a horizontal city are more likely to know their neighbours and have stronger social support systems than those living in a vertical one. Despite this, it would still consume the countryside and be inconvenient since it spreads out too far. These indicate that living in a place with short buildings indeed brings many benefits. On the other hand, there is also a variety of good reasons for living in a vertical city. Firstly, the main reason for this is that it would be more green land as they take up less space. Secondly, it is undeniable that the utilisation of space can be more efficient to plan other venues. However, all these high buildings could make the population stressed and depressed because of the crowded vibe. Claustrophobia is a silent example. Based on such compelling evidence, it appears that staying in a vertical city also has some merits. In conclusion, despite living in a horizontal city or vertical city having positive effects, their demerits must not be ignored. It is widely believed that there is no perfect place to live, depends on your preferences. Therefore, it is imperative that choosing either one is good for everyone, but it would be better to consider both sides before moving in.