Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I totally disagree with this statement. Coining knowledge always updates you regarding the new world. Peoples need to be abreast of the latest developments. To begin with, nothing goes in vain if we work hard for our development. High School students are more attached to technology and gadgets. It depends also on the perception of how students are going to stick with the literature, such as novels and songs. Everything is available in different modes either you can read online or offline. For,example there are different apps like amazon kindle app, Goodreads etc, where we can study online. Moreover, Studying literature such as books and songs is not a cup of tea for everyone. It requires a lot of patience and understanding to read. Reading helps to improve our vocabulary and wording. At school, there must be some activities to encourage students to read literature where they can enhance their knowledge. We can find various types of books and verses like historical, psychological, mystery, thriller etc and in,poems we will get epic poems, Ballard verses etc. For,example there are some famous novels the way we live now written by Anthony Allope was published in 1875. To conclude, Everything we do for our needs never goes in vain. Putting our brain into work always became beneficial for our life to learn something. Nothing becomes a waste while you work for yourself.