In some countries, more and more people are becoming interested in finding out about the history of the house or the building they live in. What are the reasons for this? How can people research this?

Information about the history of the buildings is demanded to be known by the residents in some states. The primary reasons are that it is necessary to submit the original data to authority before the renovation is carried out and those information can be obtained on government website in most cases and from previous owners in some cases. One of the necessities before the purchase of a building or a flat is to get to know in-depth details of the building and its background history. Without knowing them, the owner has to take certain risks to do some kinds of renovations because the submission to building authority is mandatory in some countries before any alteration is made. Besides, some original features left by the previous owner are irreplaceable and any destruction of them can be undone. For instance, a friend of mine renovated his own flat, that he bought just before the renovation, without knowing that the old sculpture is Chinese original feature and it is very hard to find nowadays. Now he is very keen to know about how his flat is built by the previous owner. Regarding the history of building, one of the easiest ways to research is to ask the real estate agent or the house seller. They know very in-depth history of the house they are selling without doubt so that the buyer can get to know before making decision to purchase. Another reliable source is the government website where all records are kept and archived. The obvious example is that the URA space, a virtual map which shows data in visualised presentation, was launched by one of the Singapore government bodies in 2005. It can be used to know the previous records of each and every land lot which are vital important for the buyer to know before they purchase the land parcels. To summarise, this is very positive that many house owners are keen to know the history of the building or the flat they are residing. Getting to liaise with authority for house renovation and their willingness to avoid the destruction of authentic signatures are motivating them to explore the records of their own buildings and they can do some research on the government websites and can ask the house agents if they are comfortable to talk to them.