Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Plastic is one of the most popular materials for packaging goods. Its wide use has caused an irreversable damage to the environment. This essay will discuss these threats and how governments and individuals can play an important role to solve these problems. Firstly, plastic is a non-biodegradable material, which means it cannot be decomposed by microorganisms. As a result of this, once produced, it will be present forever. It is also harmful for the stray animals, many of which end up injesting injecting it from trash and face deadly consequences like choking. Secondly, if it is burnt then its smoke contributes to air pollution, which is one of the biggest environmental problems faced by us. Finally, the plastic dump present in seas also poses difficulty to aquatic life as it hinders the growth of aquatic plants and hence to contributes to marine ecological imbalance. It is estimated that if we continue to use plastic with the pace we are using now, there will be more of it in seas than the fish. Therefore, it is very important to put its usage to an end. Governments can help to solve this problem by banning its usage in day-to-day life and encourage the usage of packaging materials made out of paper. They can also educate individuals about the damages that are caused by the usage of polythene. Moreover, individuals can play their part by using reusable water bottles instead of one-time-use plastic bottles. While shopping, people can carry their own bags to keep their purchased items rather than relying on poly-bags. In conclusion, we should all realise that the threat to environment by plastic is real and we should all contribute to fight against it, because with just a few changes in our lifestyle, we can reduce its usage to a great extent.