In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Excessive consumption of junk food has led to a large population of people suffering from health problems in most countries. I disagree with the opinion stating that the governments should impose a higher tax on fast food On the one hand, increasing the taxes on junk food will hugely impact the restaurant business. In other words, the food joints will start cutting down on their kitchen and service staff, which would lead to the unemployment of many people. Moreover, the restaurant business is not considered to be the most profitable industry, such tax increments will lead to huge losses, eventually shutting down these places, which would impact the national economy. For example, most IT professionals prefer to eat food from restaurants even though, they earn well,they are not finding time to cook and eat at home. To summarize, if the government impose more taxes on fast food also, people who lead a sedentary lifestyle will stick to the same lifestyle that, they are following because of their busy work schedules. On the other hand, I believe the problem should be approached using a different solution. The government should come up with better public facilities in terms of, local parks, jogging lanes, cycling lanes, and public gyms, thus encouraging people to take a step towards their fitness. In conclusion, I totally disagree with the way of increasing taxes, it is a direct way but not effective with some groups of people and it also can cause some disadvantages. There are better solutions to fix this problem and benefits more in long term without any disadvantages.