Some people believe that the best way to increase the road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars. To what extent do you agree?

It is opined by certain individuals that in order to increase safety on roads, the least age for driving cars should be increased. I, however, believe that this is a good solution but definitely not the best as there are better options such as stringent laws and stricter punishments s to improve the safety standards on road. To commence with, increasing the age limit for driving cars is, of course, a good solution as it will lead to lesser traffic on road and more mature drivers. To explicate, driving is a skill that requires attention as well as maturity to handle complex situations on road. Thus, an increased age limit would ensure that less aggressive people sit in the driver's seat. This, in turn, will result in lesser road fatalities. According to a survey conducted by the Delhi Traffic Police, most road accidents occur because of negligent driving by underage drivers or teenagers. In order to reduce road casualties, implementing strict laws and punishing law-breakers can prove more beneficial. In other words, accidents usually occur as traffic rules are not followed properly and due to such negligence, safety on roads has become an alarming issue. If individuals are afraid of punishments, such as long-term imprisonment or hefty fines, they will become more careful. Thus, making it safer for commuters. In New York, for instance, anyone found jumping red lights or overspeeding, has to pay huge fines and is imprisoned for a minimum of six months. This makes people more cautious while driving, henceforth, ensuring road safety. In conclusion, changing the minimum age for driving cars may prove advantageous in improving safety on road. Nevertheless, imposing huge fines and making strict rules will definitely be more impactful.