When a new town is planned, it is more important to develop public parks and sports facilities than shopping centers for people to spend their time in. To what extent do you agree?

There exists a school of thought whether the most crucial objects that fresh-built towns should include are sports centres and common green zones rather than shopping malls and I agree. Ever thought that nowadays parks have vital importance for people’s health in big cities? Obviously, the air in modern megapolises is quite toxic mostly due to the transport emission and it is green plants and trees that could filter chemicals and clean it. Therefore, it is more than mandatory to develop parks with numerous trees in order to keep citizens fit as a fiddle by breathing pure air. To illustrate, in the world-famous giant city - of New York the toxins index in the air is quite low because of Central Park which covers more than 1/3 of the city’s area. Sports centres besides being a part of a healthy lifestyle are a productive pastime area for people who are retired. Indeed, the senior generation needs to find hobbies not to become bored as well as it is important to keep them full of beans and sports facilities kill two birds with one stone. Definitely, it is more important to plan to build this kind of centre instead of shopping malls, as most people could buy goods online, whereas it is quite unpleasant and difficult to build a habit of working out via the internet. For instance, after covid19 pandemic ended I restarted attending my yoga classes at a local centre, but I could not push myself to do yoga during the stay-at-home period. To sum up, the authorities should prioritize healthy and effective spare time over shopping, as people will have to shop online and the economy will not suffer anyways, whereas health could not be improved virtually.