Transport delays are a widespread phenomenon in many cities today. What are the causes of this problem, and how could the situation be improved?

It is obviously true that transport systems, notably public transportation, are inclined to be late on their arrival globally. The advent of this phenomenon can be attributed to two main culprits, namely the spike in transport users amid the lack numbers of transport provided and the deficiency of technological use to make transport systems more efficient. For the former argument, as the population is growing continuously in many cities across the globe, the demand for transportation facilities is automatic will be increased. The common problem that occurred is the gap between the public’s demand and the supply of transport. For example, it is frequently found that several megacities like Jakarta and New Delhi do not have an adequate amount of public transport to fulfil the need of their commuters on daily basis, resulting in the emergence of many postponed schedules that tend to adverse the public. For the latter, the situation is more alarming in emerging economies due to the inefficiency of the transportation management system which potentially exacerbates the condition. It is much different from the developed countries that are able to utilise advanced technologies such as the Internet of Things to arrange complex transport schedules in a real-time manner, making it possible to curtail the delays that might occur. For those reasons, it is a matter of urgency for the governments to devise cross-region cooperation in order to improve the quality of transportation services in their countries. This collaboration should include specific commitments to providing a sufficient amount of transport based on the ratio of transportation users in every country and strengthening technological assistance from developed countries to emerging economies. In conclusion, transport delays commonly occur in cities around the globe, yet a concrete solution might be impactful to surmount this issue. The solution refers to the urgency for authorities across the nations to create cooperation in furnishing sufficient transport and developing technology for transport management.